Tribhuvan University, also known TU in abbreviated form, is one of the finest and biggest University in Nepal. Established in 1959, the administrative office and Campus both are situated at one of the ancient town, Kirtipur which is around 5 kilometres away from the centre of Kathmandu City.

The University area covers around 3042 Ropanis land in Kirtipur where the Central Administrative Office, the Central Campus of the University, Hostel, Research Center, Examination Board, Curriculum Development Center and TU International Cricket Ground are located. TU is a non-profit making institution which is directly funded by the Government of Nepal. Since the democratic movement of 2006 AD (2063 BS), the Chancellor is the Prime Minister of Nepal and Pro-Chancellor is Ministry of Education and the Vice-Chancellor is Chief Executive of the University.

Main Objectives of TU

The University was initiated with the accompanying targets:

  1. To prepare skilled manpower for the altogether development of the Country
  2. To develop the standard of higher education and knowledge sharing
  3. To preserve and develop the cultural heritage and historic tradition of the nation
  4. To involve in extensive, empirical and timely creation of knowledge and research in the fields of arts, science, technology and vocation

Faculties of Tribhuvan University

There are altogether 9 faculties under TU which are listed as below:

  • Institute of Engineering
  • Institute of Medicine
  • Institute of Forestry
  • Institute of Agriculture and Animal Science
  • Institute of Science and Technology
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Management
  • Faculty of Education
  • 01-4330346
  • Kirtipur, Kathmandu Nepal
Share this